Pro Wrestling League to be held from January 2-19

Pro Wrestling League to be held from January 2-19

Pro Wrestling League to be held from January 2-19 Postponed after organisers claimed that their plans were thrown haywire by demonetisation, the second season of Pro Wrestling League will now be held from January 2-19 here.

ProSportify in association with Wrestling Federation of India (WFI) today announced the revised dates of the competition. “I am very happy with the new dates. We would be having ample time to be here with our family on Christmas,” said Olympic gold medallist Erica Wiebe of Canada.

“Despite challenges, we take pride in hosting this mega wrestling event that features the largest pool of Olympians and World Champions and we promise the participation of top players of the world in large numbers. I am very certain that wrestling enthusiasts would welcome the move despite all the challenges that have come our way,” said WFI president Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh.

The six teams participating this year will be from Delhi, Mumbai, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, Haryana and Jaipur. The second edition will follow the same format as of the inaugural season with each team comprising of nine players — five men, four women; five Indian and four international wrestlers. The tournament will feature a total of 18 ties — 15 in the league phase, two semi-finals and a grand finale.

About a dozen of Olympic medallist including Olympic and World Champion Vladimir Khinchegashvili, three time Olympic medallist Mariya Stadnik, World Champion Oksana Herhel and Olympic champion Erica Wiebe would be the attraction of this league. The Indians in action will be Yogeshwar Dutt, Sakshi Malik and Sandeep Tomar.⁠⁠⁠⁠
Copyright © 2015 WRESTLING FEDERATION OF INDIA. All Rights Reserved.